The Plan

I’m a creative person by nature and trade, one who doesn’t plan well and just goes with the flow. My brother however is very technical, very much a planner. He is an IT guy and was in the Army, which helped him become a very disciplined, detail-oriented person.

When I told my brother what I was trying to do here, his first question was “what is your plan”? I always thought I’d just wing it and I’d get results, but that’s just not realistic. To truly succeed at something, you should always have a plan. Even if it doesn’t work out, at least there was a goal to head towards. Adjustments can be made for life’s bumps, but I’ve come to realize if there isn’t a goal, you leave too much room for failure.

So what’s the plan?

Having seen “Forks Over Knives”, “Fat, Sick and Nearly Dead” and having read “The China Study”, I am convinced that I should be on a plant-based, whole foods diet. I’ve already cut out sweets, dairy and rarely eat red meat, so I would think this shouldn’t be a problem. We’ll see. I would love to be able to show others through example that it could be done and without feeling like you are sacrificing something. I’ve had tasty vegetarian dishes, I just have to learn a few recipies and make them regularly.

Excercise of course is an important part of the plan too. I weigh too much to run without injuring myself at the moment, so it’s going to have to be bike riding until I get the weight down to a point where I can run comfortably again.

Leave a Reply

